September 11, 2001

I hear lots of people saying that they remember exactly where they were-exactly what they were doing on September 11th, 2001. I don’t really remember where I was, or what I was doing, because I was only about five when the (Sept. 11th) attacks happened. And it was only as I grew older that I began to learn about the implications and concepts behind the attacks.

But I do remember something about that time, 13 years ago. I have to thank my dad for the memory–if it wasn’t for him retelling the story periodically, throughout the years to my mom and me, I probably would have forgotten it. Anyway, the memory that I remember from the time of September the 11th was my first-grade teacher asking the class to write (in their first-grade vocabulary and wobbly handwriting) about the event of September the 11th–what feelings it brought about, in them, what it meant, to them in general, and etc. The main point of this story (and I guess you could say “the amazing piece”) is that everyone in my class had written something along the lines of “my grandmother died in the Sept. 11th attacks,” and so forth (“first-grade nonsense,” I guess you could call it), but I was the only one who wrote something like “I don’t know why this tragedy happened. And I feel bad for the victims…” (to be honest, I have no idea why I was the only one who wrote something meaningful, for the assignment.)

The reaction that I had to what happened on Sept. 11th 2001 still holds true, today–I have no idea why anyone would want to kill innocent people. Whether those innocent people are in America, or the Middle East, or Antarctica–I don’t know why innocent people should die for the ideologies, beliefs, or anger of someone else. They shouldn’t, actually.

But while it’s evil and unjust for innocent people to die (due to the ideologies of someone else), it’s also evil and unjust for a generally peaceable people (Muslims) to be targeted for hate crimes, abused by the media, and all-in-all mistreated because of stereotypes of them being terrorists. Muslims are not terrorists. Terrorists are terrorists. How dare anyone mix the two?And on that front; how dare anyone call my holy Prophet (p.b.u.h.) a terrorist? They must be ignorant of his character-his morals, and his piety. If that person had only known the Prophet as I do. If only the Prophet were granted immortal life, so he could be here, today (for all to see his heart and his soul). But I’ll be patient until the Day that everyone will see the Prophet for who he really is.

***

I am Arab, I am black, I am African, (being Sudanese has its perks), but most important, out of any self-identifying attribute–I am Muslim. And I can say with full assurance that I can be Arab, black, African, and, yes, Muslim, and stand for justice. And love of fellow mankind. And peace. Because, hey–that is what my religion (Islam) is all about.

–Ethar Hamid

One note: may Allah s.w.t. ease the pain of the families and friends of the deceased of the tragedy, 13 years ago, and may Allah have mercy on the souls that returned to Him, on that day. May Allah s.w.t. (also) be with those suffering in Palestine, and Africa, and the Middle East, and all around the world. Ameen, ya rab Al ‘aalameen.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

